top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureStacey

Bullet Train Back to Bishkek - Day 5


I woke up at 3 am to get on the bullet train from Bukhara to Tashkent. Our train left at 4:55 am. Note, they check your passport and ticket twice before you get on the train. Once when you try to get into the train station, and again inside the train station when they stamp your ticket. Once on the train they don’t check it at all. 


I liked the assigned seating on the train. The train is the same as any TGV I’ve taken in Europe. The seats are comfortable (and the climate a little hot). There is a car for a Bistro where you can buy sandwiches and other snacks.


Warning: The handicap bathroom does not lock despite pushing the lock button and the light turning red. I both, opened the door on someone and had someone open the door on me. ....

It was one of those slow and dramatic automatic openings where once it starts it doesn't stop. =|

I think the second time it was probably karma.

I was impressed with the uniforms of the train crew members. They had gorgeous wool peacoats and classic hats. On the train, you get a free sandwich and drink.


Back in Tashkent, we went to the local Bazaar called Chorsu Market. This is an excellent bazaar. It is not too crowded. Buying items are manageable and the market is organized by food type. There is one for souvenirs, meats, fruits and vegetables, cooked foods, etcs.


I ended up buying two packs of Halva for coworkers and friends to enjoy. It was upstairs of this building. Downstairs was fresh meat and upstairs, spices, nuts, halva etc.


I was most interested in the animal market where they sold bunnies, chickens, roosters and birds. After purchasing the animal, they would put it into a grocery bag. I peeked into one and there were two bunnies inside!

After the Bazaar, we did the land border crossing into Kazakhstan then into Kyrgyzstan. It was a long 10-11 hour bus ride to Bishkek. I have a lot to say about the land border crossings so that will be a separate post all together. If you're going to be doing the land crossing, send me a message and give you the details.


81 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page